What are the different classes of uk driving license

What are the different classes of uk driving license

Different classes of uk driving license: In the United Kingdom, driving licenses are categorized into different classes depending on the type of vehicles you are allowed to drive. Knowing the different classes of UK driving licenses is essential for staying legally compliant on the roads. Here is an overview of the main classes:

Class A:

This category includes motorcycles with a power output exceeding 35kW or a power-to-weight ratio of more than 0.2kW/kg. It also covers motor tricycles with a power output of more than 15kW.

Class B:

This is the most common category and allows you to drive cars and vehicles up to 3,500kg. It also includes motorhomes and vehicles with up to 8 passenger seats.

Class C1:

This category covers vehicles between 3,500kg and 7,500kg, such as medium-sized lorries and trucks. It is also required for driving ambulances.

Class D1:

This category allows you to drive vehicles with up to 16 passenger seats, such as minibuses.

Class BE:

This category permits you to drive a car and trailer combination where the trailer weighs more than 750kg.

Class C1E:

This category is for driving a combination of vehicles where the weight of the trailer exceeds 750kg.

Class D1E:

This class allows you to drive a minibus with a trailer over 750kg.

Class F:

This category covers agricultural tractors.

Different classes of uk driving license: It is important to note that you may need additional training or qualifications to drive certain vehicles within these categories. Also, if you are driving professionally, you may need to obtain a Driver Certificate of Professional Competence (CPC).

To ensure you are legal to drive, make sure you have the correct class of driving license for the vehicles you are operating. Ignorance of the law is not an excuse, so make sure you are informed about the different classes of UK driving licenses.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *